Mixtape Review: Jason Young – Novaphoria

Image

This dude emailed me his tape so I could give it a review before he dropped it. I thought that was cool. Novaphoria is scheduled to drop on January 18th. Follow him on Twitter at: @JasonYoungRap

I fuck with the production on here heavy. It’s so chill and spacey, like I’m high and relaxing at the bottom of the ocean. I ain’t drowning or nothin, just chilling; watching fish go by and whatnot. Some of the beats, like “I Come With Peace” got that old-school, boom-bap, early ’90s style feel to them. His laid back delivery compliments the instrumentals well too. Homie’s got a good taste in beats.

Jason’s got a fair share of variety on this tape. He got some smoke songs, some drive around music, and some real, introspective tracks. They flow consistently, so the project was well constructed. As a whole, though, with his lyrics and his flows, it shows that he got some growing to do. I don’t always get grabbed in as a listener. On some songs, I do. On some tracks, I don’t. The intro track, “Dreaming”, is one that I like mostly for the beat and Biggie sample. When I looked at the tracklist and saw a song called “Booty”, I thought “Yeahhhh…I kinda wanna skip that”, but you can’t do that when you’re reviewing something. It was straight, he was really flowing on that joint.

My favorite track on Novaphoria is “Jason Young”. Another spacey beat, with scratches and sounds of medium-high-pitched singing in the background. He’s being introspective on this track. I can tell that he put alot of effort into this song specifically. I liked what he said about making money but still giving it to the homeless, even though he worked his ass off for it. You know how you can smoke to 90’s Outkast songs yet still feel like you hearing a message in the music? It’s kinda like that on Jason Young”. Good shit. “I Come with Peace”, “Sunny Nights”, and “What’s Real” has that type of vibe too. Like I said, they made me think. These four songs were definitely the standouts on the mixtape.

A problem I got with Novaphoria is the sound quality on the vocals. They don’t sound very clear, so I’ma assume that he recorded this on a personal microphone instead of at a studio. Plus he doubled his vocals a bit too much to me, so the sound quality kinda bothered me. On further releases, I suggest he cleans that up.

Overall, I def think Jason got talent, he just need some time to grow. He only 17, so he got time. Cool tape though.

Rating: 6.8/10

Leave a comment